What is the best cloud security certification, CCSP, CCSK or CCAK?

All three certifications CCSP, CCSK, CCAK focus on different aspects of cloud and cater to different needs. Below is a comparison of these certifications to help you better understand their differences and target audiences.

CCSP (Certified Cloud Security Professional) 

  • Offered by: (ISC)2 in with the Cloud Security Alliance (CSA)
  • Focus: Comprehensive cloud security knowledge and , covering architecture, design, management, and operations
  • Target audience: Experienced IT and security professionals who specialize in cloud security
  • Exam: Requires meeting specific eligibility requirements and passing a comprehensive exam covering six domains
  • Expertise level: Advanced


CCSK (Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge):

  • Offered by: Cloud Security Alliance (CSA)
  • Focus: Foundational knowledge of cloud security principles, best practices, and technologies
  • Target audience: IT professionals looking to gain a solid understanding of cloud security or starting their cloud security journey
  • Exam: Passing an online examination with 60 multiple-choice questions based on CSA's guidance and the report
  • Expertise level: Foundational to intermediate

CCAK (Certificate of Cloud Auditing Knowledge):

  • Offered by: Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) and the International Association of Privacy Professionals (IAPP)
  • Focus: Cloud auditing, including governance, compliance, , assurance, and auditing processes
  • Target audience: IT professionals, security, privacy, and audit practitioners responsible for assessing and auditing cloud services and
  • Exam: Passing a proctored online examination with 75 multiple-choice questions covering four domains
  • Expertise level: Intermediate to advanced


In summary, the CCSP is an advanced for professionals with a focus on managing and securing cloud environments, whereas the CCSK is a foundational to intermediate certification providing a broad understanding of cloud security principles. The CCAK, on the other hand, is an intermediate to advanced certification that targets professionals responsible for assessing, evaluating, and auditing cloud-based services and infrastructure. Depending on your professional goals and experience, you may choose one or more of these certifications to validate and enhance your cloud security expertise.

Explore the site

More from the blog

Latest News

Related Posts