‘Quad’ group seeks to set security standards for global tech industry

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on email

The Quad group of nations – the USA, India, Australia, and Japan – has announced several joint initiatives to share technology and spur its development, among them a plan to set new global security standards for the technology industry.

The four nations’ leaders met late last week and announced a set of initiatives, among them development of shared “Quad Principles on Technology Design, Development, Governance, and Use”.

A joint statement outlines the aims of that document, including the following call to action for the technology industry:

The joint statement also spells out the Quad leaders’ desire that the Principles “will guide not only the region but the world towards responsible, open, high-standards innovation”.

The Quad was formed in 2004, formalised in 2007, ignored for a decade, then revived in 2017. The four member nations have since increased collaboration, culminating in last week’s summit. The language used regarding information security standards for the world represents a new level of global ambition

Read the article