Welcome to the
CyberIQs Knowledge Centre

Notifications
Clear all

How to change careers and work as a SOC Analyst

RSS

Topic starter

I am currently employed in Distribution/Shipping for the last 6 years. I  hold my Associates degree (just gen ed classes) and I am currently studying for my Net+ and Sec+. I need something with stability, growth potential, and financial security. I’ve read and researched SOC Analyst and this is the job I want to begin my career with. I just need help in getting started. Where do I begin? Any suggestions?

4 Answers

In my humble opinion the next thing for you to do is to look into the MITRE ATT&CK and continue learning cyber, in this field you want to be always ready.

Also, try to research ahead of time the SOC you are getting into, just to avoid what I explained above. You want to get into a SOC which is serious about the value that provides to the company so you get a big deal of exposure. Banks and Financial institutions often have very good SOCs.

Good Luck!!!!

Sounds like you're on the right path. Keep in mind though. I've found info sec to be unique, I've seen people struggle because they're limited in understanding the basics of troubleshooting and how the technology works. Most of which comes from help desk experience, then sys/network admin, etc.

My other suggestion is for you to build a lab at home so you get hands-on experience. It's hard to demonstrate you understand security if you don't understand how the house is built; i.e. do you know how a computer on a domain operates?

What is Kerberos and how is it used? Do you understand how routers and firewalls operate? Why are rule ordering important for firewalls?

Good luck to you.